The Phelps County Visitor Committee is a volunteer body approved by the Phelps County Board of Commissioners and governed under State of Nebraska statutes.

The mission of the Visitors Committee is to promote and encourage tourism in Phelps County. The Committee is funded by a lodging tax it receives from the county and is responsible for administering two grant funds, one for advertising and one to help tourist sites improve their facilities.

The committee is made up of seven members approved by the Phelps County Board of Supervisors. Each Committee member serves a three-year term of office.

The Phelps County Visitors Committee maintains an administrative relationship with the Holdrege Area Chamber of Commerce, which provides support services and meeting space for the Committee.


• Chairperson, Dan Christensen| Director, Nebraska Prairie Museum, 2020*
• Vice-Chairperson, Amy McMurtry | Manager, Rodeway Inn, 2018*
• Treasurer, Carrie Naylor | Owner, Bertrand Herald, 2018*
• Secretary, vacant|
• Member, vacant|
• Visitor Center Director, Carol Rapstine | Director Holdrege Area Chamber of Commerce

*term expires